Jeep Grand Cherokee Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie to WJ's, but not Jeeps. I own a XJ and a MJ. I'm looking at a 99 Limited with the 4.0(by choice, I love the engine.)I'm not familiar with the transfercase, Quadratrac, Quadradrive, NVG 247? I'm also not familiar with the transmission. Anything to be aware of with these items? It's a nice beast with 36,000 miles, and all the bells and whistles with the upcountry option. Did the upcountry come with a limited slip for that year? I know the new ones it's a seperate order, but the Cherokees used to get a limited slip with the upcountry.
I'm buying this for my wife. I'm tempted to buy a new Sport version with leather seats, and side airbags which she wants as it's only about $5k more.
Fred

·
Registered
290 Posts
Fred Blum......Sorry I can't help much....I do believe that Quadratrac II and Quadra Drive were only avalible with the 4.7 V-8s. The differents in the two is the Quadra Drive has the V-Locks in the front and rear....Good Luck........Don S..

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think the transfercase is called a quadratrac II. I knew the verorotor axles are only available with the V-8. Does this case lock front and rear axles in 4-lo?
Another newbie question, How is the aluminum D-44 holding up in the newer WJ's? That was my other reason for looking for a six, is the d-35 which isn't that great but it is a known quantity.
Thanks,
Fred

·
Registered
290 Posts
Fred Blum..... Does this case(qd) lock front and rear axles in 4-lo? ...YES ..About the rear ends Check in this TECH section for Topic "Differentual Bearings". I wouldn't want either one if I had over 31" tires........Take care......Don S..

·
Registered
15 Posts