Jeep Grand Cherokee Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
WJ 2002 V8 4.7L Limited

All steering fluid completely gone on way home today. Had a hard time turning corners you can imagine. I can sorta see where the leak is - near joint between the reservoir and a steering hose.

I'm an amateur when it concerns repairs, so I'd like to ask you guys this:

1. if I add a steering fluid tomorrow morning, will I be able to get to the shop? The leak was quite dramatic, and I wonder if it will just splash the whole tank down to the ground in minutes. My shop is 12 min away.

2. what parts can be possibly wrong in my situation? Steering hose? Tipping ends? Steering pump?? The reservoir?

3. is it a dealer-only repair, or meineke or midas can fix it as well?

Thanks, and sorry for such stupid questions.

·
Registered
79 Posts
You can put fluid in it again to get you where you need to go, or probably be fine only driving it 12 minutes away empty.

I had a car I got for free about 12 years ago that for some reason had an empty reservoir. Who knows how long it was empty. I filled it up to "find the leak", and amazingly it never leaked. The pump howled for a bit, and I drove it around the block a few laps until the howling went away. That thing never leaked again after that, don't know why it was empty.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, Compstall
I put some steering fluid, and I could drive fine to the shop this morning. They should call me soon, hopefully it is fixable and not too much money. There's also some whining noise, more revs more noise, I wonder if it is steering-related as well. I'll report back on their findings.

·
Registered
660 Posts
Thanks, Compstall