Jeep Grand Cherokee Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, a newbie here. My first WJ, but not first, or only Jeep. This one is pretty much for the wife. :cuddle: Anyway, what I need to know is, what's the biggest tire I can run on a 2001 LTD with 17" wheels. It's got little 235/65's on it now, but those big wheel openings are just screamin for a little more tire. I don't want a lift, just a little taller tire. The present Michelins are rated at 29.4". Looks like I could go maybe 30-31?
But there sure aren't many sizes available in 17". By contrast, the 16's are easy to find.
I had 255/70-15's on our 98 Gr. Cherokee and never had a problem. Any help or tips greatly appreciated!!

:newbie:
Thanx, Phil
01 Gr. Cherokee
98 Cherokee
91 Cherokee

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Maximum tire size with 17"s ???

Since nobody has been able to answer, I'm gonna try a different angle. What's the biggest 16" tire that will fit? The 16's are a little more common, so maybe more guys have tried taller tires.
Somebody give me a hint on that and I'll look at 17" tire specs and find something close to the same height in a 17".
It looks to me like a 30"-30.5" tire would fit ok, but I'd like to get some confirmation first.
Thanx, Phil

·
Registered
114 Posts
Phil,

With no lift, I would not go larger than your existing 235/65 R17. Even if you go with a 16 inch wheel, a 29 inch tire is as large as you can run without hitting the fender. Take a close look at the back of the wheel well opening for your front fender. There is very little room with an LTD and stock suspension

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Anthony, thanx.
That's not very encouraging is it? I'll have to look it over. These 235's are about 29.4" tall. Boy, I sure got away with a lot more size on the 98. (255/70-15's) :(

Later, Phil

·
Registered
619 Posts
it would be really really easy to do a BB.... JMHO. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
9 Posts