Jeep Grand Cherokee Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

loud noise, started quiet but has gotten loud and now is loud whether engine is warm or cold. Other than the noise, the engine runs great.

I have been running mobil 1 synthetic, thinking i need to go back to conventional

sounds like a lifter but i am no expert in 4.0s

what are the possible causes?

lifter?
injector?
other?

thank you for any help you can offer

·
Registered
76 Posts
I bet this is it. And dont go back to conventional oil! synthetic is way better!
The DCP solenoid is near the master cylinder. Has vacuum lines running to it. basically, remove it from the inner fender well and zip tie is securely to something that wont transmit the sound through the body. Thats where the noise if coming from.
Here is the TSB:

Emissions - Ticking Sound With Engine Idling

NUMBER: 25-001-03

GROUP: Emissions

DATE: Feb. 21, 2003

SUBJECT:
Duty Cycle Purge Solenoid Causes A Ticking-Like Sound From Engine Compartment

OVERVIEW:
This bulletin involves isolating the Duty Cycle Purge (DCP) solenoid from the vehicle body.

MODELS:

2002 - 2004 (WJ) Grand Cherokee (Domestic Markets Only)

SYMPTOM/CONDITION:

The customer while sitting in the passenger compartment may notice a ticking-like sound when the engine is idling. The sound may be more noticeable in colder ambient temperatures. Mechanical contact between the DCP solenoid and the body of the vehicle may be the cause of the ticking-like sound.

The ticking-like sound may also be described as a tapping or clicking-like sound. The sound may appear to be similar to the sound produced by a worn or loose engine valve train component, such as a valve lifter.

DIAGNOSIS: