what about in dash dvd's? [Archive] - North American Grand Cherokee Association

: what about in dash dvd's?


Zj96Gc
04-15-2006, 10:52 PM
ok got a problem, i know the Zj's are off roaders but my buddies and g/f get bored when we are just riding around town and i wanted to put a indash dvd player/ monitor only problem is how do you put one in with out having to cut up the dash to fit it in place. yall got any ideas ?

lambar
04-17-2006, 05:59 AM
They do sell motorized dvd players that will fit (or closely fit) where your radio is located. They retract so they are hidden when not in use. I believe Panasonic is one maker. I have seen a couple by a group called Pyle, but not sure how good they are. The higher ends include mp3/dvd/tuner, etc.

redzjon31's
04-17-2006, 09:46 AM
[smilie=1zj2 (1).gif] yeah man i would go to best buy of circuit city they have all sorts of dvd in dash players there i also know a buddy who built an adapter out of wood and made it come out of the dash more

spykosshow
04-17-2006, 04:20 PM
What you can do is switch the location of the HVAC controls and the stereo, then use one that comes out of a single din slot.

cwm
04-18-2006, 09:03 AM
I installed the Pioneer AVIC N-2 in my ZJ without cutting up the dash.
I just went to Best Buy and looked through all their install kits and used the one for the ZJ and another one that spaced it out far enough to clear the dash,
Glued the 2 together with a 2 part plastic bumper repair epoxy and put it in.
I wanted to test it for awhile before I finish it by sanding and painting it which I still need to do but have been running it for about a year now with no probs.

dusty122
04-18-2006, 10:01 AM
I installed the Pioneer AVIC N-2 in my ZJ without cutting up the dash.
I just went to Best Buy and looked through all their install kits and used the one for the ZJ and another one that spaced it out far enough to clear the dash,
Glued the 2 together with a 2 part plastic bumper repair epoxy and put it in.
I wanted to test it for awhile before I finish it by sanding and painting it which I still need to do but have been running it for about a year now with no probs.

Do you have any picutres of your install? how far did you have to come out with the spacers to get it to clear the dash?

as for the main question. theres a group of cheap lines out there of flip out screens. if you only want to spend like 400 bux check out pyle, lanzar, or deisal audio. if you want to spend mor emooney and get nav and a bunhca other toys. that avic n2 by pioneer is preety sweet. i think the new model the n3 has a 60 gig harddrive built into it. other high end models to check out are the eclipse, panasonic, clarion,and maybe kenwood

whowey
04-18-2006, 05:48 PM
Noone mentioned it yet. Make sure to check your state laws regarding these.

In Illinois it is specifically illegal to have a system like this running when the vehicle is being driven. While the law doesn't mention them, I have heard of some people being stopped and the cop stating it was because of a graphic GPS being used.

cwm
04-18-2006, 08:09 PM
http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/5117/xtrimtjnvicn20175lv.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/7483/xtrimtjnvicn20184mm.jpg

http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/5117/xtrimtjnvicn20175lv.jpg

canadian_driver
04-18-2006, 10:08 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v121/jademonkey/P3101149.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v121/jademonkey/P3101145.jpg


no dash cutting, can be put back to stock if needed


legal here in ontraio, i got stoped by a cop once, all he asked was what movie i was watching

dusty122
04-20-2006, 12:01 PM
thnx for the pix. the law here in CA says the the driver cannot be able to view a graphical displayunless it is showing vehicle information or gps or rear view camera. if a cop pulls u over switch the screen to one of those views.

cwm
04-20-2006, 12:34 PM
canadian_driver
That a nice install but doesn't it block the AC Vents and controlls?
Or is it just deceiving in the Pic?
Looks great though.

canadian_driver
04-20-2006, 12:37 PM
canadian_driver
That a nice install but doesn't it block the AC Vents and controlls?
Or is it just deceiving in the Pic?
Looks great though.


vents yes, contorls no, the vents are blocked aswell, besides my heat and AC dont work anyways, they did for a bit when i first put it in, but if its ever at a point where im that despriate for air, it will still play when folded down, its not like im watching movies all the time when im driving ;) , also note that many if not all in dash DVD players have some sort of mechanism disabling the ability of a DVD movie to be played while the parking brake is not engaged, this is easily disabled, but just know its still there


edit: the vents are blocked internally so that the air is rerouted to the other vents

wsuxjer
05-22-2006, 08:34 AM
CA Driver, got any more pics of the install? Specifically, how you rerouted the wiring for the stereo and the HVAC controls?

canadian_driver
05-22-2006, 09:07 AM
nope i dont, but i can tell you;

there is quite a bit of room back there for wires, and its just a simple wireing harness that goes from the head unit to the hideaway unit, then the hide away is sitting right on top of my amp and the dvd changer is in the trunk so all the wires run in the back where the stock amp was, they go, cd changer to amp and amp to hideaway then hideaway to head unit, and i ran the wire for the hide away under the kick panel. then i ran another wire under the headliner for the IR reciver for the dvd changer. then for the hvac i just for some male end rubber hose connectors and some extra hose from home depot and extended the stock hoses. a fairly simple install, tho very time consuming. i took apart the whole inside while doing it. and as u can see i tried piutting in the advanced hvac contorols but i couldnt get it to work properly so i just stuck with the normal one, under the seat rear seat is the hide away and the amp

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v121/jademonkey/98cherokee_apart1.jpg

wsuxjer
05-22-2006, 11:47 AM
Got any pics of what you did to the AC duct? Looking around in there yesterday, I think I can reroute the wires without blocking the duct.

canadian_driver
05-22-2006, 01:01 PM
i blocked the air ducts on prupose so no air would be wasted, i just screwed a peice of plastic in there and put some calking around it

wsuxjer
05-22-2006, 02:19 PM
Ah, I see. You only blocked the ducts because the screen would have blocked the vents, not because you had to cut it out to do the wiring.

redzjon31's
06-05-2006, 09:48 AM
Has anybody done the cd to ac swap on a 94 i was wondering what u used to keep everything in place because the screws need to be lined up and where do u put the bolts for the cd mountkit? Any help would be great.

zjrog
01-07-2007, 10:32 PM
I've given some thought to swapping the HVAC up to where the headunit sits, the headunit down where VIC sits (I have a remote control), and figuring out a touchscreen monitor for a car PC in place of the HVAC. Even willing to remove the central vents for this... Have to do more thinking, and more saving, tough to do with one kid in college and the otehr thinks she needs a car... :roll:

th3godf4th3r
01-26-2007, 11:02 PM
canadian driver. how did you manage to fit your player where the a/c controls were? and what did you use to hold it in place. i have a 98 grand 5.9 and my a/c controls have the temp guage and stuff and it would be quite some work to do this. I have been talking with some other people and they have said that the Kenwood dvd players have the abilty to come out further so it would get out far enough to clear the dash over hang

bigrubbers4x4
01-28-2007, 10:09 PM
Ah, I see. You only blocked the ducts because the screen would have blocked the vents, not because you had to cut it out to do the wiring.

lol, hmmmm, do i sense a small amount of sarcasm there..........lol

th3godf4th3r
02-10-2007, 03:41 PM
ill pay anyone who can make a custom dash kit like canadian_driver did for the HU and another one for the climate control.

1996zj
03-07-2007, 04:23 AM
If your not too sure how to do this you mite want to ask about it at a audio shop, maybe have them install it.It mite be worth it to pay alittle to have it done right and look good.

BeachCrawler
03-12-2007, 05:04 PM
http://img1.putfile.com/thumb/3/7019065983.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=4968919)

I will post more details later. :lol: This is the stock location using off the shelf products. It does not require anything special to install. If you can install a head unit you can do this install in a few hours without any rewiring or major cutting of the dash. This system offers dvd, cd, mp3, vcd, tv, reverse camera, 4 video inputs, 2 video outputs, dual mode (video for the kids and separate audio for the adults up front). However is does not offer touh screen but since I have a Garmin PDA that I move from car to car I don't need it.

zacharykro
03-23-2007, 10:52 PM
i seriously think i would be safer just getting this

http://www.poweracoustik.com/pa2006/images/PRODUCT/video/INDASH/4003.jpg

and installing it in the stock location than messing with the a/c

th3godf4th3r
03-24-2007, 09:10 AM
i did it

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a182/tfolks206/car2007012.jpg
http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a182/tfolks206/car2007013.jpg
http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a182/tfolks206/car2007014.jpg

Dan
03-25-2007, 09:49 PM
I've put some thought to the two options. Instead of relocation and possibly screwing something up I just bought the GM mounting kit.

It sticks out further and should allow mounting in the stock location with minor mods to the brackets.

I will update with pictures of the progress.

country_boy454
03-26-2007, 08:51 PM
, also note that many if not all in dash DVD players have some sort of mechanism disabling the ability of a DVD movie to be played while the parking brake is not engaged, this is easily disabled, but just know its still there


How do you go about disabling this mechanism. I purchased an in dash for my XJ which is used primarily in the woods so I'm not to concerned with getting pulled over for havin it.

th3godf4th3r
03-26-2007, 10:39 PM
most headunits only require the parking brake wire to be grounded. try that and i bet it will work

jeepinxj
05-15-2008, 11:17 PM
Parking brake wired to ground... or switch wired to ground :mrgreen: So, any updates on how to put that flip out in the stock location?