I get P0300 Random/Multiple Cylinder Misfire Detected...... - North American Grand Cherokee Association
North American Grand Cherokee Association

Go Back   North American Grand Cherokee Association > Grand Cherokee Forum > Drivetrain Tech Center
Nagca.com is the premier Jeep Grand Cherokee Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2002, 07:00 AM   #1
Steven
Member
Grand Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 43
Default I get P0300 Random/Multiple Cylinder Misfire Detected......

WHen I runs the ODB-II. What would cause this? Bad gas?
Steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-28-2002, 09:01 AM   #2
Mrfreeze5
Senior Member
Grand Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Denver, Co
Posts: 1,093
Send a message via AIM to Mrfreeze5
Default

I got that problem when I installed new plug wires. One of the wires did not seat properly on the plug and the spark was arcing and melted the boot. A new plug wire solved it though.
__________________
96 GC Laredo
Mrfreeze5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2002, 06:22 PM   #3
SKEETER
Senior Member
Grand Junkie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Southern, Maine
Posts: 234
Default

From memory I believe the code breaks down like this:
P=PCM computer reporting problem
0=Generic OBDII code available to all scanners (not chrysler specific)
3=Ignition system fault
0=misfire
0=multiple cyls. are misfiring (if it was a 1 then it would be cyl one, etc)

Basically it means that the computer detects that you have at least 2 different cyls misfiring to the point to set the check engine. A higher end scanner (Genysis, SnapOn, etc) will allow you to go into the misfire counter and see which cyls are missing.

Causes can be bad plugs, wires, cap, clogged fuel injectors, water in the gas, crank or cam sensor. The computer looks for certain "pulse" pattern from the crank sensor to coincide with the lighting of the combustion chamber. When a cyl doesn't fire and produce power it causes the engine to momentarily stop causing a long "pulse" as compared to the properly firing cyls. Notice that I said when the cyl does fire & produce power. So the plugs might be sparking away but with a clogged fuel inj(s) there is still no power hence a skip or misfire.

Hope this helps.
__________________
ASE Master Tech/L1
99 WJ limited v8 4" Teraflex, 265 Trxus, 247 to 242j hd swap
90 YJ vortec 4.3 on 33's
94 ZJ limited v8 -sold
89 XJ lifted w/chevy 350...SOLD
http://community.webshots.com/user/extremeoffroad
SKEETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2002, 11:56 AM   #4
Mrfreeze5
Senior Member
Grand Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Denver, Co
Posts: 1,093
Send a message via AIM to Mrfreeze5
Default

Mine reported multiple cylinder misire when only the #4 cylinder wasn't firing.
__________________
96 GC Laredo
Mrfreeze5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2002, 12:42 PM   #5
SKEETER
Senior Member
Grand Junkie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Southern, Maine
Posts: 234
Default

Well no system is perfect, but the multiple cyl misfire is set when the computer system detects more than one cyl missing. I have scanned my own vehicles and have had several cyls missing without even setting a code or being able to feel it. Like I mentioned, the system isn't perfect or fool proof but technically that is what SHOULD have happened.
SKEETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:36 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.